Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Saturday, April 5, 2014

Classic: The Rock Album CD by Jenny Oaks Baker

Grammy-nominated #1 Billboard Violinist Jenny Oaks Baker takes her style to an all-new level with her new release, Classic: The Rock Album. Featuring classic rock favorites like Stairway to Heaven (Led Zeppelin), Sweet Child of Mine (Guns and Roses), and Yesterday (The Beatles), you won't believe your ears as one of the country's most accomplished and acclaimed violinists combines her insane talent with the heart-pumping tunes that have defined a genre for generations. 

About the author 
Grammy Nominated Artist Jenny Oaks Baker is one of America’s most accomplished violinists. She received her Master of Music degree from the renowned Juilliard School in New York City and her bachelor’s degree in violin performance from the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia.

She has released eleven albums since 1998. They consistently chart on Billboard, including the #1 spot on the Top Classical Albums chart. Her album Wish Upon a Star earned a nomination for the 54th GRAMMY Awards for Best Pop Instrumental Album.

Jenny Oaks Baker has performed as a soloist at Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, and with the Jerusalem Symphony, Pittsburgh Symphony, Utah Symphony, and the internationally acclaimed Mormon Tabernacle Choir. Jenny performed as a first violinist with the National Symphony Orchestra for seven years before resigning to devote more time to her young family. Jenny and her husband Matthew have four children.

Book Readers Review
Books and music are my passion.  I grew up with both and could not imagine life without either.  When asked to review Jenny Oaks Baker’s newest CD  Classic: The Rock Album, I was thrilled.  The interpretation of classic rock songs into classical violin music intrigued me. The violin and classical music are beautiful. Here in Jenny’s CD we have a unique combination of classic rock favorites played on the violin with orchestral accompaniment.
Her playing is just spellbinding. Jenny plays the violin beautifully and with a proficiency that proves she has an exceptional gift. Not only is she talented but is a gorgeous looking woman. This CD has so many elements for all to enjoy.  It is so powerful yet relaxing, a wonderful accompaniment to my reading.  Thank you Deseret Books for the complimentary copy of this CD for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received for this review.

Track List
- Kashmir/Four Season (Led Zepplin/Vivaldi)
- Everybody Hurts (REM)
- Sweet Child of Mine (Guns and Roses)
- Liverpool Suite
- Pinball Wizard (The Who)
- Imagine (John Lennon)
- Stairway to Heaven (Led Zepplin)
- Let it Be, Eleanor Rigby, Yesturday, All you Need is Love, Hey Jude (The Beatles)
- Bridge Over Troubled Water (Simon and Garfundel)
- Fields of Gold (Sting)
- Clocks (Coldplay)

Listen here

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your valued comments